Awards, Honors and Appointments

Ahmed AlwishahAhmed Alwishah (Philosophy)
Professor Alwishah was awarded a Visiting Fellowship at Cambridge University’s Clare Hall College for January-June 2014.

Jennifer Armstrong (Biology, W.M. Keck Science Department)
Professor Armstrong served on a National Science Foundation (NSF) grant review panel, Washington DC, September 17-19, 2012.

Brent ArmendingerBrent Armendinger (English and World Literature)
Artist-in-Residence,Headlands Center for the Arts,
Sausalito, CA, summer 2013.

Michael BallaghMichael Ballagh (International Programs/Study Abroad)
Appointed to the review board of the International Journal of Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Marketing, 2013.

Jose CalderónJose Zapata Calderón (Sociology; Chicana/o-Latina/o Transnational Studies, Emeritus)
Appointed to the Los Angeles Board of Education, June 2013.

Recipient, Nopal Award in Recognition of Notable Accomplishments and Positive Contributions to the Latino/a Community, the Hilda L. Solis Scholarship, Cal Poly Pomona, April 11, 2013.

Recipient, 2012 Ambassador Nathaniel & Elizabeth Davis Civil Rights Legacy Award, November 29, 2012.

Paul FaulstichPaul Faulstich (Environmental Analysis)
Recipient, Journal of Rock Art Research Award of Appreciation (for 20 years of service on the Editorial Board), 2013

Judy GrabinerJudith V. Grabiner (Mathematics)
Named Fellow of the American Mathematical Society, awarded to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication and utilization of mathematics, 2012.

Jim HosteJim Hoste (Mathematics)
Appointed associate editor of Involve, a journal of mathematics, June 2012.

Ethel JorgeEthel Jorge (Modern Languages, Literature and Cultures)
Guest co-editor, “Special Focus Issue: The Scholarship of Community Engagement,” a collection of 15 articles on community engagement in the areas of Spanish and Portuguese, Hispania, vol. 96, no. 2 (June 2013). With Josef Hellebrandt.

Barbara JunisbaiBarbara Junisbai (Office of the Dean of Faculty; First-Year Seminar Program)
Country expert, Kazakhstan, Varieties of Democracy Project (V-Dem), spring 2013.

Ming Yuen MaMing-Yuen S. Ma (Media Studies)
Nominee, Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS) 2014 Best Edited Collection Award for Resolutions 3: Global Networks of Video.

David MooreDavid S. Moore (Psychology)
Co-editor, Special Issue: Homology in Developmental Psychology, Developmental Psychobiology, vol. 55, no. 1 (January 2013). With Chris Moore.

Laura Skandera TrombleyLaura Skandera Trombley (President; English and World Literature)
First Thomas Nast Gastprofessorin, University of Koblenz-Landau, June 2013

Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, Pepperdine University, May 2013

Appointed by President Barack Obama to the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board, February 2013.