Installation Ceremony Speakers

Angela Glover Blackwell
CEO, PolicyLink
Angela Glover Blackwell is the founder and president of PolicyLink, a national research and action institute that works collaboratively to develop and implement local, state and federal policies to achieve economic and social equity.

Lawrence D. Bobo
W.E.B. Du Bois Professor of Social Sciences, Harvard University
Lawrence D. Bobo currently chairs the Department of African and African American Studies and also holds an appointment in the Sociology Department.  His research focuses on the intersection of social inequality, politics, and race.

Alicia Bonaparte
Chair, Pitzer College Faculty Executive Committee & Associate Professor of Sociology
Alicia Bonaparte is a medical sociologist and expert on medical sociology, reproductive health disparities, birthing, midwifery and African American sociology. Her most recent book is Birthing Justice: Black Women, Pregnancy, and Childbirth.

Nigel Boyle
Interim Dean of Faculty and Vice President of Academic Affairs; Professor of Political Studies, Pitzer College
Nigel Boyle is the founding director of the Pitzer’s Institute for Global/Local Action and Study and has taught political studies at Pitzer since 1992. He is an expert in comparative politics, European social policy, labor market policy, Irish politics, soccer and prison education.

Tim Campos ’10
In-coming Chair, Pitzer College Alumni Board
Tim Campos is the director of recruitment programs at ArtCenter College of Design. He graduated from Pitzer with a double major in sociology and Chicano/a-Latino/a studies with a minor in studio arts.

Kirsten Carrier
Co-chair, Pitzer College Staff Council Representative
Kirsten Carrier is the director of residence life and summer programs in Student Affairs and serves as co-chair, along with Dana Pike, of Staff Council, which represents the concerns and interests of Pitzer College staff members.

Hiram E. Chodosh
President, Claremont McKenna College; Chair, the Council of Presidents
Hiram E. Chodosh is the fifth president of Claremont McKenna College. Chodosh is a recognized innovator in higher education, comparative law scholarship and international justice reform.

Sheldon H. Danziger
President, Russell Sage Foundation
Sheldon H. Danziger is a public policy expert  on economic inequality at the Russell Sage Foundation in New York City, one of the most important funders of socially relevant research in the social sciences. He was formerly the Henry J. Meyer Distinguished University Professor of Public Policy and director of the National Poverty Center at the University of Michigan.

Arthur Gross-Schaefer
Rabbi; Professor of Marketing and Business Law, Loyola Marymount University
Arthur Gross-Schaefer is a representative to the National Conference of the Pacific Southwest Region of Reform Rabbis. He taught at Western States School of Law, Boston University and the University of Southern California He was formerly president of the Pacific Southwest Academy of Legal Studies.

Josue Pasillas ’17
President, Pitzer College Student Senate
Josue Pasillas
 graduates this May with a degree in urban studies and environmental analysis. He served as the press and communications intern for the Chicago Mayor’s Office and he was the external affairs intern at the Los Angeles Mayor’s Office.

Russell M. Pitzer
Trustee, Grandson of College Founder Russell K. Pitzer
Russell M. Pitzer is an emeritus professor of chemistry at the Ohio State University, where he also served as the department chair from 1989 to 1994. He is also a co-founder of the Ohio Supercomputer Center and the Ohio Academic Resources Network.

Wasif Rizvi
President, Habib University
Wasif Rizvi is the founding president of Habib University. He is also the CEO of Habib University Foundation, a non-for-profit organization, through which he led the conceptualization of Pakistan’s first undergraduate liberal arts and sciences university.

Shahan Soghikian ’80
Chair, Pitzer College Board of Trustees
Shahan Soghikian is a co-founder of Panorama Capital and an expert on technology investments. Soghikian was a partner with JPMorgan Partners, where he led the firm’s venture investing efforts.

Janelle S. Wong
Director of Asian American Studies Program, University of Maryland
Janelle S. Wong, a professor of American studies, is author of Democracy’s Promise: Immigrants and American Civic and co-author of two books on Asian American politics, including Asian American Political Participation: Emerging Constituents and their Political Identities.

Leon Wood, Jr.
Interim Chaplain, Claremont University Consortium
Leon Wood, Jr. has served Southern California communities as an educator, community activist and pastor for 50 years. He is the founder of the North Long Beach Community Prayer Center and the Long Beach Freedom School.

Henry T. Yang
Chancellor, University of California, Santa Barbara
Henry T. Yang is the fifth chancellor of UC Santa Barbara. Previously, he was the Neil A. Armstrong Distinguished Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Purdue University, where he also served as the dean of engineering.




Page last updated on March 24, 2017