Academic Calendar 2016-17

2016-17 Academic Calendar (pdf)

Calendar of Major Religious Holidays

If you have questions, please contact registrar@pitzer.edu

Fall 2016

AUGUST
Aug 20 Sat New Student Move-In/ New Student Orientation and Orientation Adventure begins
Aug 21-24 Sun-Wed Orientation Adventure Program
Aug 25-29 Thurs-Mon New Student Orientation continues
Aug 26 Fri Placement exams for new students
Aug 28 Sun New student registration
Aug 28 Sun Residence halls open for returning students at 10 a.m.
Aug 28 Sun Sophomore Year Symposium Registration and Pre-Symposium Activities
Aug 29 Mon Sophomore Year Symposium
Aug 29 Mon Convocation for First-Year, Transfer and New Resources Students
Aug 30 Tues Fall semester classes begin
SEPTEMBER
Sep 2 Fri Independent study forms due FALL (full and half credit)
Sep 5 Mon Labor Day (classes in session)
Sep 12 Mon Last day to add classes (full and half credit)
Sep 12 Mon Last day to make schedule changes for a tuition refund or financial aid adjustment
OCTOBER
Oct 17 &18 Mon-Tues Fall Break – no classes
Oct 20 Thurs Last day to drop a class with no recorded grade & without being charged semester overload fees
Oct 24 Thurs Major and Minor Declaration forms due for Juniors
NOVEMBER
Nov 3 Thurs Last day to choose Pass/No Credit grading option; forms due to Registrar’s Office
Nov 7-8 Mon-Tues Advising Days (classes still in session)
Nov 15-18 Tues-Fri Pre-Registration for Spring 2017 semester
Nov 18 Fri Independent Study Forms due SPRING (full and half credit)
Nov 24 & 25 Thurs-Fri Thanksgiving Break – no classes
DECEMBER
Dec 9 Fri Final day to withdraw from classes (grade recorded as “W”)
Dec 9 Fri Final day of classes for fall semester
Dec 12-16 Mon-Fri Final Examinations (see Final Examination Schedule)
Dec 17 Sat Residence halls close at noon
Dec 22 Thurs All grades due to the Registrar’s Office by noon

Spring 2017

JANUARY
Jan 13 Fri New Student Orientation
Jan 15 Sun Residence halls open at 10:00 a.m.
Jan 26 Mon Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – no
classes
Jan 17 Tues Spring semester classes begin
Jan 30 Mon Last day to add a class (full and half credit)
Jan 30 Mon Last day to make schedule changes for a tuition refund or financial aid adjustment
MARCH
Mar 9 Wed Last day to drop a class without recorded grade & without being charged semester overload fees
Mar 9 Thurs Major Declaration and Minor forms due for 1st semester Juniors
Mar 13-17 Mon-Fri Spring Break
Mar 31 Fri César Chavez Day – No Classes
APRIL
Apr 6 Thurs Last day to choose Pass/No Pass credit grading option, forms due to Registrar’s Office
Apr 10-11 Mon-Tues Advising Days (Classes still in session)
Apr 18-20 Tues-Thurs Pre-Registration for Fall 2017
Apr 20 Thurs Independent Study forms due FALL (full and half credit)
Apr 28 Fri Last day for graduating Seniors to withdraw from a class (grade recorded as “W”)
MAY
May 3 Fri Last day of classes for the Spring semester
May 4 Thu Academic Festival
May 4-5 Thurs-Fri Senior Finals; Reading days for all other students
May 5 Fri Final day for non-seniors to withdraw from a class (grade recorded as “W”)
May 5 Fri Grades for graduating seniors must be submitted by noon
May 8-12 Mon-Fri Final Examinations (see Final Examination Schedule)
May 13 Sat Commencement
May 14 Sun Residence halls close at noon for all students
May 18 Thurs Grades for non-graduating students must be submitted by noon
Page last updated on August 23, 2016